October 14th, 1864, Friday

We finished husking our corn this forenoon. Mother, Sophronia, and I have helped some. Mother has gone over to Mrs. Calef’s this afternoon. Yesterday afternoon Sophronia and I went down to Aunt Gale’s. Martha and May Frothingham, John Unger, Will Howe, Sarah and John Weeks were there. John Unger went to Rockford last night. We all went to the depot to see him off. Will Howe has been to Weeks’s over a week. I guess he and Sarah will make a match yet. Wednesday night 12th May and Martha and John Unger were here. John reminds me of Henry Gale. Aunt Louisa has had a letter from Henry lately. He has taken a farm near Uncle Haskel’s. Tuesday 11th Anna Swan, Sophronia and I went to Genoa and to Richmond. Anna had her dress cut at Mrs. Coe’s. Sophia got her a new cap. I’m going to have me one next week. I expect Anna’s cousin Eliza Roach (Hutchins it was) is over there. Sophronia and I have had an invitation to go down to Weeks’s tomorrow afternoon. Don’t know whether I shall go or not. I had a letter from Cousin Olive. How I should like to see her. Mr. and Mrs. Harrison have got home. Mr. H. called here Wednesday. He said that little Charlie Utter was dead. I should think Mrs. Utter would be almost crazy for she almost worshiped him.

We are having nice weather this week. I would like to be in New Hampshire. I would go chestnutting today.

Leave a comment