September 27th, 1864, Tuesday

Father has gone down to Genoa. He is going to get a new tongue to the buggy if he can. We want to go to the fair Thursday (the last day). Charlie Frothingham, May Frothingham and Martha, Sophia and I were going over to see Cora Hopkins this afternoon, but it rains and I guess we shall not go. Saturday 24th John, Sophronia and I went down to Mr. King’s and staid all night. I got acquainted with Mary Ann Wright one of their neighbors. Sunday 25th night Anna Swan and Eugene called here. Yesterday Mr. King was here to dinner. I heard that when Rod Hodge and George Kane, Henry Dutton, George Belnap, Ike Westcot and the other soldiers started for Springfield they were so drunk they had to be helped on the cars. Stone and Sanf Rotnour went with them to take care of them.

Leave a comment